Results 1 to 10 of 12
-
26th Feb 2012, 09:18 PM #1OPMemberWebsite's:
AnimeTiTanZ.NeTHow do I host a domain without any Control Panel ?
Hello there ,
I was Asking About
>> How do I host a domain without any Control Panel ? <<
hope any one can help
P.S I have VPS & Want to host a domain on it without any control panel .
haytham_12_12 Reviewed by haytham_12_12 on . How do I host a domain without any Control Panel ? Hello there , I was Asking About >> How do I host a domain without any Control Panel ? << hope any one can help :)) P.S I have VPS & Want to host a domain on it without any control panel . Rating: 5
-
26th Feb 2012, 09:35 PM #2MemberWebsite's:
forumhookers.comIf you can't afford cpanel you can install free control panel like lxadmin!
Need help in this feel free to pm me!
-
26th Feb 2012, 09:43 PM #3Member
You don't need a control panel.... just SSH... you don't even need FTP tbh.
Install centos or whatever... install other things like mysql and ftp(if you want).
now use ftp to transfer files, OR use SSH if you don't have ftp - you can upload a .zip file and unzip it in the directory and it will run the php etc like normal .... (learn via google)
using free control panels are often unsecure... just saying
oh btw, don't forget to install security of some sort or you're doomed.
Made by Envee :P
-
26th Feb 2012, 09:45 PM #4OPMemberWebsite's:
AnimeTiTanZ.NeTI Tried all free panels but It's not good
& for Now I Can't Afford to buy Cpanel
& thanks for trying to help .
>>@Mp3Drug >> I did that but my domain name didn't worked
SO i need away to add my domain to my vps without Cpanel
-
26th Feb 2012, 11:00 PM #5Respected Member
Kloxo is pretty easy but if you choose cenots 5 or 6 LAMP as OS then follow these instructions
(I would first run yum update and yum install php-mysql before following the instructions below)
Thanks to the author
First thing we'll have to do is to edit a couple files using vim. First file is named.conf. This is your main BIND configuration file. If you search google for this, you will find a lot of stuff that you really don't need to know to get your VPS answering calls and it can turn out quite confusing. So the goal here is to keep it simple and explain everything.
I will briefly explain the file system structure here in order to lessen confusion, and, perhaps, answer any questions. You can skip this by scrolling down to the next paragraph. The Linux file system isn't built like windows, instead of using forward slashes (\) between directories, it uses a back slash (/). On Linux there are no drive letters (C:\, D:\, etc.) instead, your root directory is just /. A good rule of thumb when working from the command line on your VPS is to think of the first / when you are changing directories, or editing files as "C:\" if you're a windows user. Here is more reading on this.
So, logged in as our privileged user (joe), we open up the file /etc/named.conf
Code:
sudo vim /etc/named.conf
This should bring up a new file. If you see anything on your screen, except a bunch of ~'s and something like: ""/etc/named.conf" [New File]" at the bottom, you should reconsider editing this file. You should not have any problem if you've followed the last tutorial.
I will show you a basic named.conf file and explain it a bit in more detail after. Here is the file:
Code:
options {
directory "/var/named";
version "Nope.";
};
Each section's directives are contained within '{' and '}'.
Each directive is terminated with ';'.
options { - The directives passed in this section are the main options for BIND.
directory "/var/named"; - This tells BIND where to look for configuration and other files. We will leave it at the default, /var/named.
version "Nope."; - This is a version statement for a bit of security, all that happens is when version requests are sent to BIND it will return "Nope." instead of the version. This is to avoid exploiting any potential weaknesses.
Now we will add in our site's entry to this file. When we're done, our named.conf file should look like this:
Code:
options {
directory "/var/named";
version "Nope.";
};
zone "example.com" in {
type master;
file "example.com"
};
I will describe what we added to this does as I did above.
zone "example.com" in { - This tells us the the zone we are answering for. This must be an FQDN, not a subdomain, this includes your domain without the "www.", as it is a subdomain as well.
type master; - This tells that this is a master zone and everything is on this server.
file "example.com" - This is the file name in which we will find our configuration for this domain. I like to just name it as the domain to make life easier, but you can name it anything you like, really. Note that this file will need to be in the /var/named directory, or whatever was specified above.
Good stuff. Now before we go adding in the configuration for our site we must register the name servers in the x10hosting client area. I have wrote a tutorial on how to do this here.
Now we have the name servers that we want to use (ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com) pointing to our VPS's IP (192.168.1.100). We can now insert the DNS record in the /var/named directory.
This is how we're going to do it.
Code:
vim /var/named/example.com
For our example.com we'll want to have a file that looks like the one below, I will explain it more in parts and attach the exact file in it's completeness.
Code:
$TTL 86400 ;
This is is the Time To Live statement. It tells DNS Caching servers how long this record should stay in the cache. The value following it is in seconds, this record stays alive for 24 hours. You could also write this as:
Code:
$TTL 24h;
Next is:
Code:
@ IN SOA ns2.example.com. admin.example.com. (
2010062801 ; Serial
10800 ; Refresh
3600 ; Retry
604800 ; Expire
86400 ; Minimum
)
This is the Start of Authority record. Basically all you need to know at this point is that you don't need to change the numbers you see (Serial, Refresh, etc.). What you can change is "ns2.example.com" and "admin.example.com". These are one of your nameservers that you registered with x10hosting, and the administrator's (your) email, respectively.
For the email, you must replace the @ with a period. I'm not too sure why and nobody really is; meaning that if you have trouble understanding DNS not to fret as it really is the hardest part of this series and many people have lost sleep over configuring DNS.
Moving on...
Code:
example.com. IN NS ns1.example.com.
example.com. IN NS ns2.example.com.
These are the two name servers you registered in this article. They follow the syntax
Code:
domain.tld. IN NS nameserver1.domain.tld.
The "IN" just has to be there if this is a site's DNS record. It is telling the internet that this is all IN the record for this site. Notice the periods after every domain and subdomain entry. Domains and subdomains with dots after them are absolute domains (FQDN) and those without are relative (PQDN). You can read about both here.
Next Section
Code:
example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
ns1.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
ns2.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
mail.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
www.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
ftp.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
The above is just a list of domains that your VPS will answer to. You don't need to enter any of these except the FQDN, example.com. The others are for giving services their own subdomain. (ftp, www, mail) and completeness (nameservers).
Code:
example.com. IN MX 10 mail.example.com.
This last bit of code is the MX record, or the mail record. It will tell other mail servers where to send mail. We will set ours to mail.example.com for example.com.
Reply With Quote
06-29-2010 01:08 PM #2 pornophobic
x10Hosting Member
Join Date
May 2009
Location
Toronto, ON
Posts
23
The rest of it.
I had to wait for this to be approved, so I will finish it in this reply.
I will note that in the part where you name your sub-domains (www.example.com, etc.) this is where you must add any other sub-domains that you wish to have. For example, if I wanted to add 'info.example.com' and 'testing.example.com' to my DNS record I would simply just add them to the end of that section, like so:
Code:
;What we already have.
example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
ns1.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
ns2.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
mail.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
www.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
ftp.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
;What we are adding.
info.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
testing.example.com. IN A 192.168.1.100
Any other FQDNs that you wish to add should be done the same way we added example.com to our DNS records.
There you are, pretty straightforward.
So now that we've got our example.com configuration file complete and all the sub-domains we want are added, we can exit and save the file (press 'esc', and type ':x') and start the BIND service. To do this we type:
Code:
service named start
You should see something like the following:
Code:
Starting named: [ OK ]
If it says [FAILED] instead of [ OK ] it should give you a brief reason as to why it failed. If you followed this tutorial to the word, it should start up just fine. If named has started up successfully you can now open your browser and type in your domain name. If you've followed the tutorials, you should see an Apache test page on your domain.
If nothing comes up, you can try a few things to see if it's your computer that is causing it. You can try pressing the refresh button, or you could try flushing your DNS.
That's all for this tutorial. In my next I will go through the steps needed to configure Apache to start hosting your sites, or sites.
If you find anything in error or false or have anything to add, please message me and let me know and I will make the necessary changes. I will also post the links to those articles when I have written them.
-
26th Feb 2012, 11:02 PM #6Member
If you are unsure how to set it up you will probably be unsure on how to manage your website without the control panel so I'd suggest either a fully managed server (who would then set up your domain / website) or get a free control panel.
Trusted: DEViANCE
-
26th Feb 2012, 11:38 PM #7OPMemberWebsite's:
AnimeTiTanZ.NeT
-
27th Feb 2012, 02:03 AM #8Respected Member
You are welcome and good luck.
-
27th Feb 2012, 02:55 AM #9MemberWebsite's:
fasthostonline.comhello,
try software from softaculous : webuzo
i think this is cheap software license to make private site
-
29th Feb 2012, 07:15 AM #10MemberWebsite's:
AVANETCO.COM AVAVPS.COMi suggest you try webmin .
also you can install all of services and run they.
Sponsored Links
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Similar Threads
-
Control panel or not?
By mrnothersan in forum Webmaster DiscussionReplies: 9Last Post: 16th Sep 2012, 05:05 PM -
help: which control panel it is
By Garfield2 in forum Hosting DiscussionReplies: 8Last Post: 10th Jul 2011, 08:14 PM -
New Control Panel
By Angeix in forum General DiscussionReplies: 14Last Post: 12th Dec 2009, 04:05 PM -
Control Panel..
By Sl!M in forum Server ManagementReplies: 8Last Post: 28th Jun 2009, 10:18 AM
themaCreator - create posts from...
Version 3.24 released. Open older version (or...